Extended data retention

By Christophe Dujarric, on Jan 06, 2016

If you haven’t noticed yet: since last month, data retention has been extended for the Premium and Enterprise Editions. It used to be respectively 7 days and 30 days. It now increased to 30 days and 90 days.

Why did we do that?

Premium & Enterprise users are able to use Blackfire’s automated testing capabilities. When notifiers are configured, they get instant notifications if a build succeeds or fails. That often enables to just have a quick look at what happened. But they might not have time to take any action about it at that specific moment. And then, a 7 days delay was somehow short… Especially when it came to comparing a profile with a historical one! (Of course, reference profiles can help here.)

More retention simply gives more flexibility.

How does retention work again?

Depending on the Edition you’re using, some of your data is stored for a specific duration, and erased afterwards. The retention period is applied to all profiles you generate, except for publicly shared profiles and Reference Profiles, which have an unlimited retention.

For build reports, retention is also unlimited. Please note that profiles generated during test scenarios, and accessible via build reports are subject to retention. So after their expiration, you can only get summary information via a build report.

Happy profiling!

Christophe Dujarric

Christophe is the Product guy at Blackfire/SensioLabs. He has been working in several start-up companies, helping them to make and sell products out of technologies. He’s involved in every step of the product’s lifecycle, from strategy to design and sales, and loves to coach on product management methods.